Vera List Center for Art and Politics Vera List Center Advisory Committee
The Advisory Committee of the Vera List Center
is an integral part of The New School community.
Members of the committee advise the chair and
counsel the director of the center, develop expertise
on ways to support the academic enterprise, offer
insight and guidance on programs, provide signif-
icant financial support, and serve as links to the
communities in which they live and work.
James-Keith Brown, Chair
Carlos Basualdo
Sunny Bates
Frances Beatty
Michelle Coffey
Gabriella De Ferrari
Ronald Feldman
Marilyn Greene
Ken Grossinger
Elizabeth R. Hilpman
Ellen Kern
Micheline Klagsbrun
Norman L. Kleeblatt
Prem Krishnamurthy
Thomas J. Lax
Jane Lombard
Joshua Mack
Lydia Matthews
Susan Meiselas (as of 2014)
Sina Najafi
Nancy Delman Portnoy
Martha Rosler
Ingrid Schaffner
Mary Watson
The publication of this book is made possible in part
through the generous support of Vera List Center
Prize for Art and Politics Founding Supporters,
Lambent Foundation and The Malka Fund.
The Vera List Center for Art and Politics is an idea
incubator and a public forum for art, culture, and
politics. It was established at The New School in
1992—a time of rousing debates about freedom of
speech, identity politics, and society’s investment
in the arts. A pioneer in the field, the center serves
a critical mission: to foster a vibrant and diverse
community of artists, scholars, and policy makers
who take creative, intellectual, and political risks to
bring about positive change.
We champion the arts as expressions of the
political moments from which they emerge, and con-
sider the intersection between art and politics the
space where new forms of civic engagement must
be developed. We are the only university-based
institution committed exclusively to leading public
research of this kind. Through public programs and
classes, awards and fellowships, publications and
exhibitions that probe some of the pressing issues
of our time, we curate and support new roles for the
arts and artists in advancing social justice.
Previous Page Next Page